The Final Countdown

There’s less than a week to go until Rob and I take off on our adventure and in preparation we have been…

Finishing work
We both left work last Friday; me after a year & a day of commuting to the Big Lottery Fund in Birmingham and Rob on a career break from his HR role. My team and colleagues are based across the country so I thought I wouldn’t be too sad, but the kind cards and messages broke me down by the end of the day!

Bidding friends farewell
The following night we had a leaving party in Leicester with a brilliant bunch of our favourite people.

Packing up
This week we have packing up our flat. I say ‘we’, so far this has mostly been down to Rob as I have been on a course this week (see below).

Learning a new skill
I’ve been on an Introduction to Abode inDeisgn course with Web Studio Training in Nottingham. I’d noticed that a few of the vacancies on the job alerts I’d signed up to required experience in the software as essential and the dates worked well. It was a great 3 day course and though it won’t make me a designer, I’m much more familiar with how to use the programme.

Learning the Kiwi accent 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZdVHZwI8pcA

Still to do before lift off

  • Move out of the flat
  • Rob is at his friend’s wedding in Doncaster on Saturday
  • Final farewells with our families – tea, cake and fizz on the menu!
Leave a Reply

